Photobucket

 

It’s ain’t a glamorous cake, nobody will be declaring it the latest trend. It ain’t a haute cuisine cake, it has no famous french flavour of the month chef’s named tagged onto it’s cute little butt. It’s applesauce cake. Spice cake. Happy to be only what it is, and the best of them.

Photobucket

 This was without question the best spice cake I’ve ever had, and I’ve eaten a *lot* of spice cake y’all. It was easy and smooth, simple to put together and trouble free to bake. This cake would make anybody proud.

Photobucket

The frosting ain’t needed, but I put a little cream cheese frosting on top that is nothing more than cream cheese and powdered sugar and a little vanilla beat together.

Photobucket

It’s every bit as warm and comforting as it looks. It’s sums up neatly every last bit of warm homey goodness this book represents to me, snack or fancy party she’d show off and be well loved. For the recipe below, I’ve written out the one for a 9 inch square cake since that’s what I made. The recipe for a larger version and the key recipe is on the same page.

 

Applesauce Cake (pg. 128)

“Watch this cake disappear!”

Grease and flour a 9 in. square pan. Preheat oven to 350 F.

1/3 c. soft shortening (used half butter and half Crisco for my version)
1 1/3 c. sugar
1 large egg
1 c. applesauce
1 2/3 all purpose flour
1 tsp. baking soda
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. cinnamon (used 1 tsp. for my version)
1/3 tsp. cloves (didn’t use for my version)
1/3 tsp. allspice (used 1/2 tsp. for my version)
1/3 c. water

Cream together the shortnening and sugar until fluffy. Beat in the eggs. Sift together the dry ingrediants and beat in to the eggs and sugar, adding the water halfway through the beating. Add in 1/3 c. walnuts an 2/3 c. raisins if desired (didn’t use in my version). Pour into pan and bake for 35 to 40 minutes.

