Half the week I was limping, the other half I had a tummy bug. Yes y’all, wussed out and didn’t blog at all which only made me feel worse. Feel free to yell at me next time I do that. To make it up to y’all, I offer this recipe that I came up with when I got to feeling good. It’s delicious, easy as anything and really healthy! That ain’t bad for a simple supper. The curry powder is optional, D doesn’t eat spicy so I leave it off his and use it in mine after it’s ready.

IMG_1208

Chicken And Wild Rice

2 boneless chicken breasts
2 tbls. olive oil
3 stalks of celery, chopped
1 medium onion, chopped
1 carrot, diced
1 c. wild rice mix
3 c. chicken stock
1 clove garlic
1/2 tsp. cumin
1/2 tsp. chili powder
1/2 tsp. curry powder
1 tbls. corn starch
Sea salt
Pepper

Cook the rice according to the directions on your wild rice mix, about 50 minutes with the two c. of chicken stock.

Flatten the chicken breasts and cut into small pieces. Put 1 tbls. of olive oil into a large skillet, and throw in diced garlic and the chicken. Saute the chicken for a few minutes on each side, until it’s cooked all the way and browning slightly. Put the chicken on a plate, and throw the celery and onions and carrot into the skillet to soften a bit. Put the spices and the chicken back in the skillet and let them cook for a few, stirring a lot for 10 minutes. The rice goes on the plate in a round pat, and the chicken an veggies are put on top. While the pan is hot, pour in 1 c. of the chicken stock and the cornstarch (dissolved in a little water), and whisk constantly so it thickens up. Pour over the chicken and serve. For two or three people as a meal.

Yum!

