This is my favourite recipe for pork chops and apples. Like it so much I served it to my mom and g-ma, and that’s saying something because those women know good food! Y’all know me, I can’t leave well enough alone so I included the original recipe from Taste Of Home. Gonna tell y’all what I did differently, this recipe is really flexible.

It’s D and me, I used 3 pork chops which makes one for each of us and 1 for him at work tomorrow. Always use all the apple cider, used yellow mustard which is what I had and a regular onion. One apple was enough for the smaller supper, and I always use cranberries instead of currants. they’re done at the 18 minutes, but I simmer them for 30 minutes because it makes them nicer.

Pork Chops And Apples

 

 

Apple Raisin Pork Chops

8 pork chops
1 tbls. vegetable oil
1/2 tsp. salt
1/4 tsp. pepper
2 c. apple cider or juice
3 tbls. spicy brown mustard
3 medium apples, sliced
1/2 c. sliced green onions
1/4 c. raisins
1/4 c. dried currants
2 tbls. cornstarch
1/4 c. cold water

In a large skillet, brown pork chops in oil in batches on both sides. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Return all chops to skillet.

Combine cider and mustard; pour over meat. bring to a boil; reduce heat. Cover and simmer for 13 – 18 minutes or until juices run clear. Remove chops to a serving platter; keep warm.

Add the apples, onions, raisins and currants to the skillet. Cover and cook over medium heat for 5 – 6 minutes or until apples are tender. Combine cornstarch and water until smooth; stir into apple mixture. bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened. Serve with pork chops.

