Always been a coward when it comes to trying to make up my own baking recipes, this is the first time I’ve tried. *chases cowardice out the door* 

 When D and I move, we’re planning to go out in the country where we both feel more comfortable. A lot of what we’re working towards is self sustainability, and a more rustic lifestyle. Healthier living is also our goal, and the two together got me to thinking about cupcakes and what sort of things I might be making. This recipe requires no gadgets at all, the coffee is grounds dumped into a pot and boiled, then strained to get the grounds out. It’s very strong, which is what you wnt it to be for this recipe. The sugar is less because I was looking for something that wasn’t super sweet, I get sick of all the sweet after a few bites. The whole wheat is needed because I’ll eventually be grinding my own, and the buttermilk really gives it a sugar cutting kick and tender crumb. To be honest, I was taken aback by how fluffy and moist they are! The eggs that I used are powdered whole eggs, very convenient for storing and cost effective when you don’t have your own chickens. They ain’t frosted yet, I’m working on what an appropriately rural and health conscious option would be.

The pics are to show the crumb.

If you’re a fan of a more bittersweet chocolate experience, give this little hicks a try!

Boondocks Cupcakes

  • 1 c. white sugar
  • 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 c. whole wheat pastry flour (whole wheat flour is fine)
  • 1  cup unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking powder
  • 1 1/2 tsp. baking soda
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 c. buttermilk 
  • 1/2 c. canola oil
  • 1 c. boiling coffee
  • Mix the dry ingrediants together, then dump in the eggs, buttermilk, and oil. Whisk together, then pour in the cup of hot coffee. Whisk until smooth, the batter will be on the thin side. Pour into prepared cake pans, or cupcake pans. Bake at 350 F for 20 minutes.

    Picture 573  

