Craving Ellie In My Belly!

I love Ellie. I love meatloaf. More importantly for this pick, D loves meatloaf. He likes desserts, and even really enjoys a handful that I make… but regular food makes him much happier on a usual basis. For the first pick, I politely asked (waved the book in his face until he stopped trying to watch tv) what he’d enjoy most as the first Ellie recipe. After a few false starts (you can’t eat that honey, that weird name is a hot pepper and your stomach would try to kill me) he triumphantly pointed to that most exotic of foods, the meatloaf. Because apparently the large amounts of turkey meatloaf I already make him eat on an almost weekly basis ain’t enough. You’d be startled at what I can do with leftover meatloaf at this point, including but not limited to subbing it out for toast for creamed eggs and using it crumbled up in spaghetti sauce. In truth, the spaghetti sauce is worth making a whole meatloaf for but that’s not the point.

Photobucket

You’d think at 34 I would’ve learned basic reading skills by now, but you would be very wrong. Somehow I missed the instructions she gave for how big to make the meatloaf until now when I was sticking the recipe up here. 2 inches tall? The meatloaf I made towered above the loaf pan like some post apocalyptic tribute to home cooking, it’s lion’s mane of ketchup a bright flag in a dark wor… ahem, got a little carried away there. It was big. It cooked for a little over two hours, suffering some rather ugly holes in the middle because my meat thermometer broke and I had to use a candy thermometer. Stop laughing!!! That’s it, I’m not talking to y’all right now.

Turkey Meatloaf

Ingredients

3/4 cup quick cooking oats
1/2 cup nonfat milk
1 medium onion, peeled
2 lbs ground turkey breast (used a little over 2 lbs.)
1/2 medium red bell pepper, seeded and chopped (didn’t use this, D doesn’t deal with them well)
2 large eggs, beaten
2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
1/4 cup ketchup
1/2 tsp salt
freshly ground black pepper
1-8 oz can no-salt-added tomato sauce
(Used some liquid smoke like I always do in meatloaf)

Preheat the oven to 350 F.

In a small bowl, stir together the oats and milk and allow to soak while you get the rest of the ingredients together, at least 3 minutes.

Thinly slice one-quarter of the onion into rings and set aside. Finely chop the rest of the onion. (didn’t do this, put the whole onion in my meatloaf)

In a large bowl, combine the turkey, oatmeal mixture, chopped onion, bell pepper, eggs, Worcestershire, ketchup, salt, and a few grinds of pepper. Mix just until well combined.

Transfer the mixture to a 9×13-inch baking dish and shape into a loaf about 5 inches wide and 2 inches high. Pour the tomato sauce over the meatloaf and sprinkle with the sliced onions. Bake until an instant-read meat thermometer inserted into the thickest part registers 160 F, about 1 hour. (2 hours if your meatloaf was like mine)

Remove from the oven and let rest for 10 to 15 minutes before slicing.

