Brownies make me make them. It doesn’t matter what I think of the recipe or if I’m in the mood (which I wasn’t) or if I’m sneezing my head off (which I am) or if I don’t like caramel and D ain’t a fan of nuts (which I don’t and he ain’t). Brownies seduce me by saying, “It takes five minutes to stir me I promise, and you don’t even have to use anything except a whisk and a bowl!” They didn’t lie, these were the easiest brownies. Even if the use of corn syrup made me look at them sideways, I tried it and was very happy! Not sure why they’re called rich and fudgey, but I halved the recipe so that could’ve changed things. They came out an almost pound cake texture, very simple and ready to have topping.

Photobucket

It ain’t caramel, I realize this. Caramel makes me make annoyed faces, and the recipe sounded a little intimidating! When Dorie tells me to back up so I don’t et splatter burnt, I have to admit this doesn’t make m want it more. To be honest, I ain’t ever made ay kind of caramel sauce or anything before! These brownies are in slices with my first butterscotch sauce recipe from the Betty Crocker Picture Cook Book. It’s really frigging good! It never came to the soft boil stage, which was really annoying but it worked.

Photobucket

