Photobucket

Betty Crocker, you never let me down. These little muffins were so easy and charming that I didn’t even mind making them with a head cold. In fact, they were one of the only things that’s sounded good enough to go to the trouble of making. Sniffling and sneezing, I grabbed the adorable pink glass mixing bowls D’s mom gave me for Christmas and mixed them up in just a few minutes. before you say it, I’m aware they’re all spikey and look like little hedgehogs. Yes, Holly’s are all smooth and mine look like scene kids, but I swear it’s because I use an extra light hand mixing muffins in my search for the tenderest texture.

What there ain’t any excuse for (blaming the sneezing anyway) is my inability to read and ending up with this topping. This is what happens when you skim the bottom of the recipe, and instead of rolling them in butter and then sprinkling them with sugar and cinnamon you mix all three together and blink at the sugary buttery gloop.

Photobucket

It tastes good, but it sure ain’t what Betty or nature intended! Another peek at Holly’s left me slapping my forehead and using common sense, the next ones are a lot prettier.

 Photobucket

The crumb is so tender it melts on the tongue. You need to try these, they’re worth the little effort they take.

Photobucket

French Breakfast Puffs
Mix together thoroughly…
1/3 cup shortening
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg
Sift together…
1 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
1 1/2 tsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp nutmeg
and stir in alternately with…
1/2 cup milk

Fill greased muffin cups 2/3 full. Bake until golden brown. Immediately roll in…
6 Tbsp melted butter
then in mixture of…
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp cinnamon

Serve hot.
Temp.: 350 degree F oven
Time: Bake 20 to 25 minutes
Amount: 12 muffins

