Strawberries What was I thinking? Usually the strawberry display doesn’t tempt me, they’re measly pale little things that look like they’ve seen better days, the sort you expect to whip out a harmonica and tell you how they used to be the big man on Wall Street with a trophy wife and 2.5 kids. These were big, bright, look at that colour! They smelled perfect, and before I knew it a two pound box was in my basket. They’re locally grown a few towns over, which is why they were so cheerfull! The only problem was I’ve never really made much with them before, unless you count frozen ones in smoothies. Told y’all some of this cooking stuff is new to me.

 Speaking of smoothies, the next morning was their first sampling. Smoothie Blender In they went, with about a half cup of low acid orange juice, three Dannon strawberry banana yogurt (it’s all I had on hand), and about one third of the blender full of ice.

The results Strawberry Smoothie In Cup went very nicely with one of our usual Saturday breakfasts, pancakes and scrambled eggs. The pancakes are really easy, and the one on top is always a heart shaped one for D (you can’t see it well in the pic). The eggs are seasoned however I feel like doing them at the time, these were a few dashes of a spice called It’s A Dilly (a combination of dill, jalepeno, garlic, and a few others I can’t remember right now). No salt in the eggs, I never use the stuff unless I have to when cooking. It always tastes saltier if you salt things at the table, and you end up using less. The butter is Move Over Butter, the only butter spread I’ve ever found that’s good for you and tastes like something with butter. Did I mention how picky I am about “diet” foods? Sugar substitutes, fat free version, fake butter, most of it makes me go running in the other direction. It’s very rare that I use any, and when I do it better taste exactlly right. Would much rather go with a different dish than use a substitute most of the time.

Pancakes And Eggs

 

The pancake recipe is included, they’re the tastiest every day pancakes I’ve had. There are fancier ones, but these are the ones I always mix up when it’s a usual day.

 Pancake And Syrup That’s maple syrup, the real stuff is the only kind I like these days. yes, I’ve become a syrup snob.

INGREDIENTS
1 cup all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
a few dashes of cinnamon
a dash of nutmeg
1 egg
3/4 cup milk
1/4 cup vegetable oil
Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, spices, and salt together in a bowl. Make a small indention in the center, and pour in the egg, milk, and oil. Mox until ingrediants are wet, but be carefull not to over mix. It shouldn’t be very smooth. Let the batter sit for a good ten minutes, go throw in a load of laundry or bother the cat to give the baking soda and salt a chance to do it’s thing. Pour the pancake batter in whatever shapes you want into a pan with butter or Pam and cook at a medium low heat until the batter loses it’s wet shininess and starts to form bubbles. Flip, cook a few minutes more, and serve with maple syrup.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • a few dashes of cinnamon
  • a dash of nutmeg
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil

Mix the flour, sugar, baking powder, spices, and salt together in a bowl. Make a small indention in the center, and pour in the egg, milk, and oil. Mox until ingrediants are wet, but be carefull not to over mix. It shouldn’t be very smooth. Let the batter sit for a good ten minutes, go throw in a load of laundry or bother the cat to give the baking soda and salt a chance to do it’s thing. Pour the pancake batter in whatever shapes you want into a pan with butter or Pam and cook at a medium low heat until the batter loses it’s wet shininess and starts to form bubbles. Flip, cook a few minutes more, and serve with maple syrup.

